Briggan Krauss' String and Reed Quartet

Briggan Krauss - alto saxophone and guitar

Beth Fleenor - clarinet and vocals

Wayne Horvitz - piano and electronics

Greg Campbell - percussion and french horn

The main inspiration behind this new quartet is to formally put his guitar playing and his alto saxophone playing together for the first time in the same musical context and to explore how these very different instruments can coalesce and share the same orbit in his work.  


A suite of seven compositions called CLAP: New Music for the Briggan Krauss String and Reed Quartet was premiered in December 2016 at the Chapel Space in Seattle Washington. This ensemble reprised that performance in the Earshot Jazz Festival on October 27th in Seattle followed by a performance at the Winter Jazz Festival in NYC with Doug Wieselman on clarinet and Jim Black on drums and percussion.